Client Reviews

When asking our clients for feedback, we ask these two questions:

  1. How do you sum up your experience with the program?
  2. Would you recommend it to others who suffer from excoriation disorder?

Here are the replies we get:

I would recommend this to anyone who is serious about overcoming their skin picking. Contrary to what most people think, the process for overcoming skin picking requires more than just one method; it requires multiple methods in place to work collaboratively in unison. The Skin Pick program teaches the best method options available to us that have been proven scientifically to help people like us overcome our problem. Today, I am almost completely pick-free (100% pick-free from my fingers and face which were my main areas of concern, and now all that is left is my shoulders and groin/legs area), but it did not happen overnight and it did not happen with one solitary method. Skin Pick gave me the tool kit to overcome skin picking; it was up to me to apply those tools. Investing in the Skin Pick program was absolutely the best money and time I have ever spent, as I now live a new empowered life of confidence, peace, clarity, strength, and freedom that I have always wanted for myself. I am beyond grateful. Thank you, with all of my heart, Skin Pick!!

Past client, finished the program in August 2018

1. It took me such a long time to get through the program, mainly because it took a while for me to fully appreciate that the greater amount of effort and commitment that you put in, the more you get out of it. My therapist had the patience of a saint! But once I gained momentum, I started to understand the issues around my picking and what perpetuates my behaviour. I understand now that there is not a cure for picking, but that there are ways to manage the urges and there are strategies for reducing or minimising the triggers. The program has given me the tools to manage my behaviours, even if I am still a work in progress! 2. I would recommend the program to people who need help with their behaviour although I would also emphasise that you need to be proactive in seeking out strategies that work for you personally. That means it may help to do extra research or creative thinking in addition to the suggestions that come out of the therapy sessions.

Past client, finished the program in July 2018

This program was my last resort to finally manage my compulsive skin picking. I have tried everything before that: I tried multiple things to control it myself, went to counselling - even tried hypnotherapy. But nothing helped for very long. So this program was the last option for me and it definitely helped me. The sessions are easy to understand and the exercises in each session help to apply what you learn in each session. It´s great that you can discuss learnings and potential issues with your therapist who always responds asap. The only thing that would have been helpful to know before I started is that its possible to reply to the therpists´answers - I wasn't aware of that and it is very helpful to be able to have a dialogue with your therapist, rather than just questions and answers. Another thing to be aware of is that this program won't just cure you miraculously - you really need to invest time to go through the sessions and practice what you've learned. So it is very important that you really want to change and get better and that you are willing to work on yourself! Personally I still have a bit of work to do to apply everything I have learned in this program, but I am very grateful for all the very helpful tools and insights I have gained and I know that they can help me stop picking altogether! I already managed not to pick for 3 weeks and my skin looks so much better - just need to keep making an effort until eventually I won't have to anymore. Would definitely recommend this program to others who are looking for help and are willing to improve and work on themselves to stop picking.

Past client, finished the program in July 2018

I am so thankful to have found SkinPick online. I was despondent over picking my skin for more than 20 years, and had given up hope for finding help. The program is thorough, thought-provoking, and multi-faceted. It was exactly what I needed to teach me skills, both to do and to think, in new ways. At first, I was skeptical of communicating only in written form with a counselor. However, my counselor responded quickly, and often, and I feel this actually worked out better, giving me a great transcript of our communications to refer to in the future. Armed with new tools, I have been able to control urges altogether and shorten any skin picking episodes that do occur. I never, never thought an online program could do so much in eight weeks, and know this was THE best treatment option I could have found, anywhere!

Past client, finished the program in June 2018

My experience with skinpick.com was life changing. That may sound dramatic, but after decades of skin picking I finally understood and accepted my problem as a REAL medical condition. Just that validation alone was a huge relief. Moreover, I realized real changes I could make mentally and physically to break the cycle with the guidance of my therapist. I still have work to do, but now feel like I am the one in control of my picking instead of the other way around. It doesn't own me! I would definitely recommend it to anyone with a skin picking disorder.

Past client, finished the program in June 2018

1. Yes, the program was beneficial for me. I liked the fact that it was divided in different "classes" that focus all on different aspects of the problem. I also felt that the worksheets made me think about myself and the reasons for my picking in a way that I wouldn't have done just by myself. I also learned new tricks on how to decrease external triggers for the picking. The main "internal" takeaway from the course is that trying to control the urge doesn't work. Mindfulness is definitely helping in understanding the problem, and I will continue working with mindfulness and maybe take other classes on that topic. Sometimes I felt that there was a bit too much text to read in the lessons. The "theory" part of it could be much nicer (and in a more modern way) presented in a short video - but my opinion is biased here, because I work in film. The app was great! 2. Yes, I would definitely recommend the program. It's very good value for the money, and the fact that you correspond with a real therapist adds "social pressure" which helps you to actually finish the courses and worksheets. If all those tips and exercises would just have been described in a book, I would probably not have done them as thoroughly as I have with this program.

Past client, finished the program in May 2018

1. my experience with the program was informative and eye-opening, i figured out multiple techniques i wouldn't have thought of on my own and understood the reasoning behind them. 2. i would definitely recommend this program to someone who's looking for help with skin picking, anything to help us be more aware and conscious of our actions is beneficial, and it gives the tools needed to improve and eventually stop picking.

Past client, finished the program in April 2018

I feel until now the program did help me, I became more aware for sure and I think to talk about it in this way made me aware that skin picking is not something freaky one can not do anything about, but is instead a pretty normal problem that can be tackled, but you have to think about the way to do it. I still pick, but I do feel that I'm on the right path now. I would definitely recommend this program for anyone who is struggling with skin picking.

Past client, finished the program in April 2018

1. The treatment has helped me become much more aware of my behaviours, urges and to accept and handle them a lot better. 2. I would recommend it to someone who is looking for help if they are open minded and willing to really work towards improving.

Past client, finished the program in March 2018

Like tools in a tool belt, this program gave me useful and practical tools that I needed first to understand and then to deal with my skin picking behavior. Even after finishing, I’m still reviewing and practicing the things that I learned. I’m encouraged and hopeful for how the things I’ve received will continue to benefit me and others. And i would recommend this program to anyone looking for help!

Past client, finished the program in February 2018

Pages