Client Reviews

When asking our clients for feedback, we ask these two questions:

  1. How do you sum up your experience with the program?
  2. Would you recommend it to others who suffer from excoriation disorder?

Here are the replies we get:

This program was quite helpful for me and I learned some interesting insights about myself and the triggers to my skin picking. My therapist was very skilled at drawing these things out and it surprised me how effective this was done remotely via the session materials, online exercises, my responses and follow-up questions and answers. The program provided me with several techniques (some for immediate help and others for the long term) that has and will continue to help me. The mindfulness concepts that the program includes in depth are terrific. The program is well paced and I recommend taking the full time prescribed to allow for the very valuable one-on-one back and forth with the therapist.

Past client, finished the program in Mar 2020

I found the program to be a good source of information about the behaviour and the underlying thinking that leads to the behaviour. The best part of the program for me was the ongoing regular feedback and suggestions of the therapist - reassuring and gently nudging me to think and behave in a new manner. Thanks for the helpful tips!

Past client, finished the program in Mar 2020

I would highly recommend this program to anyone suffering from any degree of skin picking. I was at my last straw after having struggled for years, trying all kinds of things, and various methods on my own to deal with the problem. I wish I would have found this program sooner. It has far exceeded my expectations. The combination of session articles to read, worksheets for personal reflection on it and then having the therapist to respond and give feedback was very helpful. I learned not only about the nature of what a picking problem is and is not, but I also learned so much about myself through this process. I was given a whole toolbox of things to use and my therapist to guide me in how to make the tools work for me. My therapist was very flexible to talk about what I needed to talk about, and really worked with me very holistically. This program helped me heal my skin, and nearly totally eradicate my skin picking behavior and urges, but even more importantly, it helped me to heal my relationship with myself.

Past client, finished the program in Feb 2020

the most important thing i learned from this program sounds so simple but it wasn't obvious: there is nothing wrong with me and my picking doesn't define who i am. on a more practice side i have learned a myriad of ways to cope with my picking and that has really helped. but by far the most important thing was to feel like picking is not me. it's a burden i carry, but nothing more or nothing less than that, and we all carry a burden because that's life. it helped me be kinder to myself and kindness is what helped me change.

Past client, finished the program in December 2019

I would recommend this program to anyone who lives in a small town and who is hesitant to ask for help as I was. There was a lot of shame surrounding picking for me and finding an online program with actual professionals helping was a God send.

Past client, finished the program in December 2019

I found the Skin pick program has been very helpful at helping me with a skinpicking problem I had suffered from for many years.The weekly reports and awareness exercises as well as finding healthy substitutes for the problem were very beneficial. I would recommend this program for anyone who is suffering from this destructive habit and the rewards of being able to get it under control are marvelous.

Past client, finished the program in November 2019

I had problems with sticking to the program, maybe wasn’t focused enough. I regard myself not a severe case, but a complicated one. One thing that is definitely easier for me now is accepting my present picking behavior, also because the program offered me a new perspective: the focus on my values and goals instead of my problems and symptoms. Nevertheless I still hope that I will be able to integrate the strategies I learnt in the program better into my daily life. The most important thing for me, to my opinion, is being aware, distancing myself from certain recurring thoughts and accepting bad feelings as a part of my life. Recently I discovered – and I think the program also hints at it – the pleasure of being thankful, as a source of happiness I expect much from. Thanks to this program I don’t feel alone with my picking problem anymore. I recommend this program to everyone who wants to reduce or overcome their skin picking. It is rich, useful, has a good structure and the communication with the personal therapeutic assistant worked very well.

Past client, finished the program in October 2019

I would say that the latter part of the course was probably more helpful than the first part. Mainly because a lot of it was identification of urges and habit which i was already fairly aware of. However, i was not expecting the mindfulness aspect to be that relevant but have actually found it really useful as a tool and do it regularly. I would recommend it to someone else as it's a well designed course and useful to have someone like you reminding you to keep going when life gets busy and things slip through the net

Past client, finished the program in October 2019

I think the program was beneficial but I didn't practice enough by myself (this is all on me). I've learned a LOT about myself and about self-love and acceptance, and it made me realize that I have avoidance issues. I don't think I could have had all this introspection without the feedback of the therapist. It's great tools to take with me in the future and continue to work on my skin picking. It's already better and I don't have the expectation for it to go away completely anymore since I understand my behavior way better, I don't feel the need to control it. So yeah it helped quite a lot. I would recommend it to someone who's ready to really work on it and to experience the discomfort of facing your issues. I feel like this program is not made for everyone because you need a certain "emotional intelligence" to really understand the benefits of the exercises (this is only my opinion). It's not a magical solution either. But most people who are in distress because of skin picking are going to be willing to commit to the program I'm pretty sure, and the format is really convenient.

Past client, finished the program in October 2019

This program amazed me. I never engaged with an online program like this before and can't believe how much useful information was offered. The worksheets are very well-designed to prompt reflection, thinking, and planning, and to reinforce the new information I learned. I am very grateful to everyone involved in providing this service. I would most definitely recommend this program to anyone else struggling with skin picking.

Past client, finished the program in September 2019

Pages